Today's Features

  • Katlyn and Jacob Carrico of Owensboro, Ky. announce the birth of their son Atreyu Amadeus Carrico on June 12, 2016. He was delivered at 8:14 p.m. at Perry County Memorial Hospital. He weighed eight pounds and one ounce and was 20 inches long.

    Maternal grandparents are Angie and David Dykes of Cannelton.

    Paternal grandparents are Charlotte and Jim Carrico of Derby.

    Great-grandparents are Sandra Sanders of Cannelton, Paula Holmes of Kentucky, Allen Booth of North Carolina, Victor Carrico of Owensboro and Peggy Stole of Washington, Ind.

  • CANNELTON – On Saturday, May 7, from 9 to 11 a.m., approximately 20 students, parents and staff members rode in Cannelton Elementary’s 39th annual St. Jude’s 10-mile Bike-A-Thon. Students collected donations for around three weeks and were very excited to participate in the Bike-A-Thon and show their support for the kids and families at St. Jude.

  • Kelsey Lee Clayton and Eric Dean Henrickson of Tell City announce their engagement and upcoming wedding. The ceremony will take place June 18, 2016, at Tell City United Methodist Church at 4:30 p.m. The reception will immediately follow the ceremony at the Schergens Center.

    The bride-to-be is the daughter of Betty and Bob Clayton of Santa Claus and Miriam Whitaker of Chrisney. The future groom is the son of Sandy and Brad Henrickson of Tell City.

  • Lynda and Donald Hess of Derby celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary June 12, 2016. The couple was married June 12, 1976, at St. Augustine Church in Leopold.

    They have three children, Kristel Kratzer of Derby, Jennifer Patrick and Jason Hess, both of Tell City, and three grandchildren, Alexis Kratzer and Alyssa and Lillian Patrick.

    Donald is employed at Mulzer Crushed Stone and Lynda is employed at Perry Central Schools.

  • TROY – Randy, Debbie, Lily and Madeline Lindauer of 410 Walnut St. in Troy are the winners of the community’s Yard of the Month for June. The home has been in the family since 1892 and they have lived there for 30 years.

    The Town of Troy implemented a Yard of the Month program this spring and awards will be presented from April through September each year. All residents (including renters and those living in annexed areas) of Troy are eligible to vote and be selected. Employees and their families are not eligible.

  • ST. MEINRAD – A new book, “Conversations in the Abbey, Volume 2: The Next Generation of Senior Monks of Saint Meinrad Reflects on Their Lives,” features in-depth interviews with 11 monks of Saint Meinrad Archabbey.

  • ST. MEINRAD – Two youth choirs will perform concerts in June in the Saint Meinrad Archabbey Church, St. Meinrad.

    The Crossroads Youth Choir from Bartlett (Tenn.) United Methodist Church will present a free concert on Thursday, June 9, at 7:30 p.m.

    The Crossroads Youth Choir is comprised of teens in seventh through 12th grades who sing together each Sunday. They offer their music in worship and ministry in their home church as well as other churches, chapels and hospitals throughout the United States, with an annual musical and tour.

  • TELL CITY – The Lafayette Spring Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution held its 90th anniversary celebration Sunday, June 5, at Tell City Depot. The event was also meant to coincide with Indiana’s bicentennial celebration.




    Amid the prayers and support of parishioners, the long process of renovating one of Perry County’s most historic and beautiful churches has wrapped up

    The Rev. Brian Esarey said work on St. Augustine Church in Leopold concluded in May. The project cost about $220,000 and began in 2009 with work on the church’s stone exterior and roof. Renovation then moved inside and ended in May with installation of a new sound system.