Taylor earns firefighter of the year

-A A +A

BRISTOW –The 65th annual meeting of the Anderson Township Fire Department was held March 3 at Bristow Community Center. Fire Chief John Taylor reported the department had responded to 22 calls in 2013. Jake Hauser, Larry Lautner, Brad Harth and John Malone were re-elected directors for Districts 2 through 5.

Also serving are Wayne Kleaving, Randy Kleaving, Matt Esarey and Aaron Meyer. Duane Goffinet and Darrell Taylor will serve as assistant chiefs.

Following elections, volunteer firefighter Glenn Goffinet gave a Powerpoint presentation about the department's community activities and presented a fireman of the year plaque to firefighter Zach Taylor.
Door prizes were donated by Waupaca Foundry, Emily Winters-Legacy Financial Group, Fifth Third Bank, Southern Indiana Power, Bruce Miller and Jeff Ebert-Pioneer Seed, PSC Communication, German American Bank, C&C Catering, Car Quest and Old National Bank.

Raffle prizes and winners were Loel Rudolph, Kawasaki Mule; Ron Zoglman, $450 donated by Voges and Scherzer, Werner Drug Store, Ag Risk Solutions, Kurk Fleck, Lutgring Brothers, Uebelhor Construction and Woodworking, Mike Daub’s Body Shop, Midway Storage and Paul Malone-Farm Bureau Insurance; Frieda Lutgring, $100 cash donated by ATTC Manufacturing Inc.; Bret Lutgring, $25 cash from Home Mutual Insurance; Andy Hauser, toy tractor from John's Tractor Service; Dennis Reynolds, chair donated by Best Home Furnishings; Jim Bob Peohlein, $25 cash from Franzman Insurance Agency; Larry Howell, $25 gift certificate from Schaefer and Paulin Auto Parts; Charia Huff, chair donated by Indiana Furniture; Todd Dauby, $25 gift certificate from Bristow Mill; Allen Harth, quilt rack, hand-made and donated by Jerome and Marlene Kunkler; Cory Anson, $50 from Ohio Valley Gas; Steve Brown, $25 from Larry Howell's Garage LLC; John Marciniak, $25 from Ferdinand Farmers Mutual Insurance Co.; Kerry James, chair donated by Indiana Furniture.

Membership dues of $40 per household or rental property are due and may be sent to Treasurer Denise Peter at 4750 Aloe Road, Tell City, IN 47586. Dues may also be paid at Larry Howell's Garage in Gatchel.