PC leads All-PLAC football with 8 players

-A A +A

Sports Editor

LEOPOLD—Eight Perry Central players, including three repeat selections, were named to the All-PLAC football team in voting by league coaches Thursday.
  Spencer Wright made the team as a defensive lineman for the second year in a row.
Senior offensive lineman Greg Coultas and running back Austin LeClere were also repeat selections, though LeClere made it as the punter last year and Coultas was an at-large selection last year.
Other Commodores on this year’s team are center Devin Thomas on the offensive line, Ryan Aders on the defensive line, linebacker Levi Hilgenhold, and defensive backs Colten Hedinger and Tim Harrison.
Juniors LeClere and Harrison are the only non-seniors among Perry Central’s selections.
LeClere led the conference in rushing with 527 yards in his five conference games and also led the conference in scoring with 87 points (10 touchdowns and 17 extra-point kicks).
In 11 games overall he rushed for 1,501 yards on 231 carries, an average of 6.5 yards per carry, and scored 23 touchdowns.
He credited his linemen, including Coultas and Thomas, for much of his success.
As a third-year starter, Coultas “was a very stabilizing force on our line,” said Perry Central Coach Greg Gibson.
Gibson said Coultas excelled most at “pulling through the hole—he’s really quick at that.”
Thomas “played center for us and we faced a lot of five fronts, but we never really had trouble as far as penetration in the middle,” said Gibson.
Wright led Perry Central’s defense with 59 tackles, including 46 solos, in the regular season (the last defensive statistics available).
He also led the team with five sacks and forced one fumble.
Hilgenhold was second with 40.5 tackles (29 solos). Aders and Hedinger tied for fifth with 30 tackles and Harrison was ninth with 15.5.
Hilgenhold and Aders each shared one sack. Hedinger and Harrison each broke up three passes and each intercepted one.
Besides Perry Central’s three, repeaters from last year’s team were Springs Valley running back Sebastian Baggett, Paoli quarterback Lee Wroblewski (he made it at defensive back last year) and Springs Valley defensive back Levi Weddle.
Perry Central’s eight selections led the 32-man team. Paoli was next with seven.  
All-PLAC team
Linemen: Greg Coultas and Devin Thomas, Perry Central; C.J. Andry, Paoli; Robert Chandler and Jake Howell, West Washington
Receivers: Chad Thompson and Tyler Holiday, West Washington; B.J. Mahoney, Crawford County
Running backs: Austin LeClere, Perry Central; Travis Allen, Paoli; Sebastian Baggett, Springs Valley; A.J. Aplanalp, Mitchell
Quarterback: Lee Wroblewski, Paoli
Kicker: Brenden Grimes, West Washington
At-large: Luke Jakub, Mitchell; Cody Kennedy, Crawford County
Linemen: Spencer Wright and Ryan Aders, Perry Central; Jon Clark, Paoli; Austin Green, West Washington; Cole Grissom, Springs Valley
Linebackers: Levi Hilgenhold, Perry Central; Joey Rice and Dylan McClintock, Paoli; Sean Keller, West Washington
Defensive backs: Colten Hedinger and Tim Harrison, Perry Central; Tyler Linne, Paoli; Levi Weddle, Springs Valley
Punter: Aaron Key, Paoli
At-large: Riley Hawkins, Springs Valley; Ben Burris, Mitchell