No PC boys on All-PLAC

-A A +A
By Larry Goffinet

LEOPOLD—No Perry Central boys were named to the 12-man All-Patoka Lake Athletic Conference basketball team in the coaches’ voting Thursday.

This is the first time since 1980-81 that Perry Central was shut out on the all-conference team.

That year the Commodores went 0-6 in the conference and 1-20 overall—and only 10 players were named All-PLAC then.

This year the Commodores tied for fifth in the conference with a 2-4 record and went 9-13 overall.

Yet they were the only team not to have anyone make all-conference despite having the seventh leading scorer in conference games and two of the top 10 rebounders in the conference.

Springs Valley, which went 0-6 in the conference and 3-18 overall, had Sy Morin  make All-PLAC despite not having anyone in the top 10 in the conference in scoring or rebounding.

“He averaged eight points a game in the conference,” said Perry Central Coach Matt Carter.

Perry Central’s Alex Rogier averaged 14.2 points per game in the conference and Reuben A. Schwartz “averaged about 11” ppg, said Carter.

Perry Central’s Ian Hahus was fourth in the conference in rebounding at 6.0 per game and Rogier tied for eighth at 4.8 per game.

“Reuben and Alex each fell one vote short of making (all-conference),” said Carter.

Searching for reasons the Commodores were shut out on the team, Carter mentioned, “We had two games out of our six in the conference where we didn’t play well at all, at West Washington and Mitchell.

“And Reuben missed the Springs Valley game with an ankle injury.”

Conference champion Mitchell and Orleans, which finished in a three-way tie for second, led the All-PLAC team with three selections apiece.

Dustin Boling of Crawford County, Evan Johnson of Orleans, and Logan Laswell of Paoli were the only repeaters from last year’s team.

All-PLAC team (listed alphabetically): Dustin Boling, Crawford County; Seth Comello, Orleans; Dwayne Eubanks, Mitchell; Josh Green, West Washington; Evan Johnson, Orleans; Logan Laswell, Paoli; Sylas Morin, Springs Valley; Jordan Newkirk, Crawford County; Evan Sanders, Mitchell; Jonathan Smith, Orleans; Chase Thompson, West Washington; David Wintczak, Mitchell