Franzman elected to AIC district office

-A A +A
By The Staff

INDIANAPOLIS - Perry County Councilman Pete Franzman was elected district vice president of the Association of Indiana Counties' Southwest District during the annual meeting in Dubois County last month.

As vice president, Franzman will represent the elected county officials in the southwest district of the state, which includes the following counties: Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Orange, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh and Warrick. There are six districts in the state. Franzman will serve on the AIC's Board of Directors, which determines policies and legislative goals for the association.

Spencer County Commissioner Al Logsdon was elected district president during the meeting as well. The district meeting also included a briefing by AIC staff on recent changes in state laws that affect county government.

The Association of Indiana Counties Inc. is a nonprofit organization established in 1957 for the betterment of county government. The various functions of the AIC include lobbying the Indiana General Assembly on behalf of counties, serving as liaison among counties, state and federal agencies as well as providing technical assistance and training to county officials and employees.