Dickerson named All-PLAC

-A A +A
By Larry Goffinet

LEOPOLD—Perry Central sophomore forward Deidra Dickerson was named to the All-PLAC girls basketball team in voting by conference coaches Thursday.

Dickerson was the only Commodore to make the 12-girl team.

Perry Central finished fifth in the seven-team conference with a 2-4 record.

Springs Valley finished sixth at 1-5 but placed two girls on the all-conference team.

Conference champion Mitchell placed four girls on the team.

“I nominated three girls,” said Perry Central Coach Bill Dickerson. “I could understand us only getting one on it, considering our conference record, though we were competitive in the conference.

“And I can understand Mitchell, as good as they were, getting three or four on it.

“But I don’t understand how a team that won none or one game can place two on it and we only get one.”

Deidra Dickerson tied for eighth in the conference in scoring with 9.5 points per game in conference action.

She was second in the conference in rebounding at 7.2 per game and sixth in three-point field goals with seven.

Overall she averaged 9.0 points and 6.3 rebounds per game.

“Deidra had the best conference stats on our team—that’s what helped her,” said Bill Dickerson.

She was the only Commodore to finish in the top 10 in the conference in scoring.

Teammate Katie Schwartz was third in the conference in rebounding at 6.8 per game. And Hilarie Hahus and Rachael Rayford tied for ninth in two-point field goals with 19, one behind Dickerson.

Crawford County forward Chelsea Benham and Mitchell guard Natalie Morse tied for top vote-getter on the All-PLAC team.

Morse led the conference in scoring at 18.2 ppg and set a conference record with 19 three-pointers. Benham was second in the conference in rebounding and third in scoring.

Those two, Orleans forward Emily Grace and Mitchell’s Amanda Tram-baugh were the only repeaters from last year’s team.

Grace made the team for the fourth time and Benham and Trambaugh each made it for the third time.

All-PLAC team (listed alphabetically): Chelsea Benham, Crawford County; Megan Busick, Orleans; Ariel Cockerham, Mitchell; Deidra Dickerson, Perry Central; Emily Grace, Orleans; Chelsea Jellison, Crawford County; Makenzie Lazwell, Paoli; Natalie Morse, Mitchell; Skylar Stephenson and Diana Stout, Springs Valley; Dara Thorlton and Amanda Trambaugh, Mitchell