Democrats appointed to serve on Senate standing committees

-A A +A


INDIANAPOLIS — Members of the Senate Democratic Caucus have been appointed to Senate standing committees for the 118th session of the Indiana General Assembly. Standing committees are referred bills for review by topic and cast the first vote on a proposal during the legislative process. Members are appointed by the president pro tempore upon recommendation by the Senate Democratic Leader, Tim Lanane (D-Anderson).

 Appointments include:

State Sen. Lindel Hume (D-Princeton): ethics; appropriations; tax and fiscal policy; judiciary; agriculture and natural resources and rules and legislativeprocedure.

State Sen. Richard Young (D-Milltown): agriculture and natural resources; local government and insurance.

The General Assembly convened Jan. 7 to begin the 2013 legislative session.

For a complete list of standing committees in the state senate and House of Representatives, visit the General Assembly’s Web site at www.in.gov/ legislative /2356.htm.