City department heads back in posts for 2010

-A A +A
By Vince Luecke

TELL CITY - Mayor Barbara Ewing reappointed herself and two council members to Tell City's board of public works and safety last week. She also announced the reappointment of department heads who will lead the city's police and fire departments and utilities in 2010.

Ewing said council members John Little and Dianne Rudolph will stay on the board of public works and safety. Both have served since Ewing, who is beginning the third year of her four-year term, took office in January 2008.

Tell City Police Chief Greg Hendershot was reappointed for another year, with John Allen retained as assistant chief. Greg Linne and Steve Hauser will keep their respective posts as chief and assistant chief of the city's fire department.

Dale Poole will stay in his role as superintendent of the city's water utility, with Jeff Everly staying as street commissioner. Bruce Badger was reappointed sewage department superintendent with Earl Parker continuing as sexton at Greenwood Cemetery.

Also staying in their posts are City Attorney Jim Tyler, Building Inspector Bob Young and Recreation Director Maurice Harpenau.

Ewing reappointed council members to several boards and commissions.

Rudolph was returned to the Perry County Development Corp. board of directors as well as the Indiana 15 Regional Plan Commission. Councilman Gerald Yackle was named to the Perry County Local Emergency Planning Committee, pool committee and fire department committee. Councilman Tony Hollinden will join Yackle on the fire department committee while Hollinden and Rudolph will serve as the city council's representatives on the beautification committee.

Conducting its annual start-of-the-year reorganization meeting, the city council elected Yackle its president for the year and in that post, he will preside over meetings when Ewing is absent.