Bryan Taylor Award coming to forefront

-A A +A
By Larry Goffinet

Tell City has presented the Bryan Taylor Award to one of its senior boys basketball players every year since the former Marksman star was killed in the University of Evansville’s team plane crash Dec. 13, 1977.
The award was created by Taylor’s family to honor him and was to be presented to a player “who emulated Bryan`s qualities” of being “a great athlete, a great student, but more importantly a great person.”
But some years it was presented at the basketball team’s awards program, some years on senior awards day at the end of the school year, and some years at another time.
And no list of the winners was compiled, so no one knew who all had won it.
Thanks largely to research spearheaded by Mark Flannagan, a complete list of the winners, 1978 through 2013, has now been compiled.
All the names are being put on a plaque that Grant Taylor, Bryan’s brother, will present to Coach Brent Owen at halftime of Tell City’s game with Pike Central March 1.
“This plaque will be hung up in Tell City Junior-Senior High School to show our respect to Bryan Taylor as well as our pride in the Tell City Marksman tradition,” said Tell City Athletic Director Ryan George.
All living former winners (one, Zach Kleemann, is deceased) of the award are invited to attend the March 1 ceremony.
The winners are:
1978: Larry Werner
1979: Tim Koressel             
1980: Keith Kemp               
1981: Todd Pannett
1982: Scott Sibrel             
1983: Mike Hubert
1984: Jeff Quick
1985: Mark Hermann      
1986: Scott Schmitt          
1987: Greg Arnold
1988: Chris Alvey                
1989: Todd Kincaid
1990: Andy Schroeder
1991: Tom Quick               
1992:  Brian Goffinet        
1993: Jeremy Tempel
1994: Nathan Freed
1995: Ritter Meyer
1996: Kyle DeSpain
1997: Zach Kleemann
1998: David Carney
1999: Jeremy Howard
2000: Kevin Clark
2001: Brett Kleeman
2002: Phillip Johnson
2003: Ross McEntarfer
2004: Thomas Borders
2005: Brett Page
2006: Wade Franchville
2007: Jonathan Melberg
2008: Joseph Kohnert
2009: Andy Chinn
2010: Alex Cole
2011: Sean Flannagan
2012: Christopher Kohnert
2013: Brian Arnold
Having covered all the winners except Werner, I can tell you that it is an impressive list.
Three of them have joined Taylor in Tell City’s Athletic Hall of Fame. Fifteen went on to play a sport in college.
And I believe all of them have been successful in whatever field they have chosen to pursue after completing their education.
Having known Taylor in high school and at UE, I can also tell you that he is very deserving of having such an award named after him.
Now I would urge Tell City coaches to present the award at the same time each year—I believe the basketball team’s banquet is the ideal time—and make sure that all subsequent winners’ names are promptly added to the plaque.